11

Song: Can’t Help Falling in Love
Artist: Elvis Presley
Age: 31

When I first met my husband I was always in awe of what an eclectic collection of music he had. He had over 400 CDs because he belonged to the Columbia Records Music Club where you purchased one CD for $24.99 and then got 10 more CDs for a penny… so needless to say, he had a LOT of CDs.

They always say, “when you know, you know” and I knew! I knew it from our first date… just like the song says, “wise men say, only fools rush in” well we were fools, fools in love. We dove in right away… we knew we had something special together and it was the real deal, the genuine article… LOVE!

My husband always told me that he liked Elvis and he shared a lot of Elvis CDs with me. He put “Can’t Help Falling in Love” on a mixed CD that he made for me and tried to diversify my music taste beyond “chick rock” like Ani DiFranco, Stevie Nicks and Joan Jett… lol… just a few of which I still rock out to today!

My family liked Elvis so I knew the music and was familiar with the song but it never really “shook me up” in any way… until I met my husband… he was widening my music taste and I started to get in the groove of the song and enjoyed it.

Fast forward to a hot August night…. August 22, 2000… I was working 1-10pm shift at the Galleria Mall and I drove home to our Greencrest apartment… I walked in the house and the AC was turned off as were all the lights… There was a path of tealight candles in handmade paper lanterns leading a path from the front door to our bedroom. I called to my husband and he told me to come to the bedroom… He turned on the song…

Wise men say only fools rush in
But I can’t help falling in love with you

Shall I stay
Would it be a sin
If I can’t help falling in love with you

Like a river flows surely to the sea
Darling so it goes
Some things are meant to be

Take my hand, take my whole life too
For I can’t help falling in love with you

Like a river flows surely to the sea
Darling so it goes
Some things are meant to be

Take my hand, take my whole life too
For I can’t help falling in love with you
For I can’t help falling in love with you.

and I turned the corner in our bedroom… there he was what was my then boyfriend, in a full suit and tie… smiling…. salty sweaty tears began streaming down my face… when I looked at his face, I knew! He grabbed my hands and led me to sit on the bed…he was sweating too in his full suit… I could hear the lyrics… I knew… he sat me down and got down on one knee… that was it… I couldn’t hear anything at that point… I am not quite sure of the words because it was like time stopped but he professed his love to me as the lyrics played and I just sobbed tears of joy…. we embraced one another and sound came back! I kept hearing the music as a grin came over me that was plastered on my face… I was so happy… I knew, for the rest of my life I was going to be this man’s wife… so amazing!

We started talking and planning all night about our wedding…. we immediatly knew our honeymoon destination had to be Hawaii after Elvis’s movie “Blue Hawaii” when he sang this great song.

June 7, 2002 we were married…. our song played and as Elvis sang my now official husband wispered the lyrics in my ear as we danced closely. It was pure bliss and no feeling like I had ever known before, truly the best day of my life.

As our life together began, the song continued to inspire our love… as we are cooking dinner together in the kitchen my husband will just grab me and start dancing with me and serenading me with “take my hand, take my whole life too, for I can’t help falling in love with you.” in that deep Elvis voice…

When the song comes on Pandora when I am at work or on the radio in my car still to this day I feel the urge to text my husband and tell him I love him.

I never knew this song would impact my life in so many ways…

Here we are now and 10 years to the day I gave birth on June 7, 2012 to our daughter. Every night we play an instrumental version of “Can’t Help Falling in Love” to her on her ipod as a lullaby to put her to sleep. It still brings smiles to our faces. It makes me realize that I live a very full life and am truly fortunate to be married to the greatest man on earth. He is absolutely my perfect match and all is right in the world.

It all started on March 28, 1999, our first date when I knew, I couldn’t “help falling in love” with this wonderful man!

 

Leave a Reply

