12

Song: Stand by Me
Artist: Ben E. King
Age: 38

I had seen the film and love it, but whenever I hear the song, it takes me to The Gate in Bricket Wood, Hertfordshire, England. Absolutely every time.

I was 16 years old and too young to drink in a pub, but that was exactly what I was doing. Myself and a group of friends from the area (I lived 3 stops away on the very local train line from Watford to St Albans) used to go and drink beer every Friday night in this small pub in the middle of nowhere, usually until we couldn’t drink anymore and we’d go home.

To one side of the pub they had a pool room and we’d play pool and talk absolute rubbish. We’d drink beer and put music on but it was only when this song came on that we all sung and it was always towards the end of the night, or the end of our night. One night that sticks vividly in my mind is when Wayne turned 18 and we got him a stripper who stripped him and spanked him over the pool table, but I can tell you about nights that I went with just one or two people and we’d sit and talk football or what happened last weekend.

I can remember so many nights and whenever that song came on, we’d sing.

Back in the day, I was drinking with Wayne and Craig (brothers), Tony, Nikki, Paul and some others (and I’m sorry I don’t remember all their names), but every time I hear that song, it takes me back to The Gate and you know what, it’s like the film; you never have friends when you’re older like you did when you were a kid.

I miss those days and when I hear that song, I remember them so vividly.

Leave a Reply

