13

Song: Beautiful Day
Artist: U2
Current Age: 37

Mike had surprised me at work to ask if I had wanted to catch a beach sunset, my choices were Jersey or CT. I choose CT and we ended up sitting in traffic on 84 trying to get there. I was wearing a pink shirt and jeans, my hair in a ponytail. He was wearing a grey and black ringer t-shirt and his hair was still long. I had had to pee but didn’t really say anything because I kept hoping traffic would move, finally after sitting in the same spot for a half hour I told Mike and I got out of the car and hopped the guardrail.

I was gone about 5 -10 minutes. As I was making my way back to the car, traffic started to move and with it Mike’s car. I was stranded. I had left my bag in the car so I had no wallet, keys, or phone. It was quite the dilemma. A road worker picked me up after reprimanding me for walking on the highway and he ended up driving me around looking for Mike. He was able to drive on the shoulders and make u-turns where we normal drivers could not. We finally found Mike running up and down the highway looking frantic. He thought I walked down to a gas station we had seen from the highway so he took the next exit figuring it would take him there but instead it dumped onto a different road. I think he was about a mile away before he realized that he couldn’t get to the gas station from where he was. The worker, who turned out to be a friend of a friend, brought us back to Mike’s car, which was on the other highway. I thanked the driver, laughing the whole time because of the absurdity of the situation.

Mike and I had only been dating for a few months and he was scared that he had actually “lost” me. He said I told him he looked dashingly handsome when I saw him from the cab of the truck, but actually he was running, sweating and looked wide-eyed scared. Supposedly, he broke up a fistfight to ask the two combatants if they had seen me. That song had played earlier while I sat in the car trying to calm my bladder, but I just kept thinking how appropriate it was. It was a lovely night and I had a great adventure and I realized how much Mike cared about me. Now when I hear that song it always reminds me of why I love Mike. I just felt like everything would be fine.

 

Leave a Reply

