22

Song: Fernando
Artist: ABBA
Age: ?

This song usually triggers a memory from when I was 11. The song is “Fernando” from ABBA. I don’t think I listened to this song at exactly the moment of the memory, but the image I see is me standing in a hallway in the basement of our house during the time when my parents got divorced. The basement felt utterly empty, and, up until a few years ago, this song instilled a moment of complete loneliness and finality in me, whenever I listened to it. There was no taste or smell attached to it. Just emptiness.

Leave a Reply

