26

Song: Party Pooper
Artist: Trojan Cat
Age: 53

Not many people have every heard of this one!  This song is a spoof of off the 1916 song “Pretty Baby” by Gus Kahn, Tony Jackson, and Egbert Van Alstyne (Original Performer: Frank Sinatra). I know of it because my mom would sing this to me when I was little.  I was 8 or 9 years younger then my older brothers (maybe 5 or 6 years old). Being the only girl, I guess I was a little whinny and a bit spoiled……(that’s what my family has said)  When I acted out she would sing (OMG, she could not carry a tune!)  the “Party Pooper” song.  I have caught myself singing it from time to time, when someone in my circle is acting like a party pooper!.  It puts a smile on my face and warms my heart.  My mom has been gone for over 20 years now.  It’s one of the fond memories I have of her.

*song link is to “Pretty Baby“, as the Party Pooper song hasn’t quite made it to the internet in video form. Imagine these lyrics to that song:

Every party needs a pooper, that’s why I’m inviting you,
Party pooper, party pooper.
You can play your Mantovani, Debby Boone and Dan Hill, too,
Party killers, party pooper.
Won’t you come and tell us all about your Branson vacation –
Bring a ream of photos, too.
Walk right in with your camcorder and shout, “Where’s the party, Dude!”.
We really need yoo-oo, we really need you!

Every party needs a pooper, so it might as well be you,
Party pooper, party pooper.
Bring lots of lutefisk and haggis, fruitcake, kim chee, too,
And we’ll eat it and get nauseous.
You can dis my cuisine, say my house is a mess,
You can snoop around, too.
And don’t forget the toilet humor and the songs about poo.
We really need yoo-oo, we really need you.

Leave a Reply

