29

Song Title: Please Take Me Home
Artist: Blink 182
Age at time of Song Memory : 15
Current Age: 22

I had just got my first girlfriend. We had nothing in common.   I remember staying out until like 12:30am, (which at the time i considered super late). We would hangout in her front yard doing absolutely nothing. We “dated” for 3 months over the course of one summer. Every night would end with the standardized awkward hug, and every night I would wonder when that first kiss was going to come. I was distraught to say the least, wondering and stressing that there was something I was doing wrong.

Almost every night when it came time for me to leave, I would plug my headphones into my ears and turn on “please take me home” by blink 182. Riding by bike down the two blocks until arriving back at my house, I remember feeling a sense of adulthood.  I would coast down hills on my mongoose street bike and gaze at the cloud of fog around each street light. The distinct smells of summer were all around me.

To this day, every time I hear this song, it brings me back to my bike, on that street, in that mood.

Leave a Reply

