35

Song Title: Super Bass
Artist: Nicki Minaj
Age at time of Song Memory : 19
Current Age: 20

Song Memory: It is December 30th, its freezing outside and my stockings are too small. I regretted wearing my hair up because every time someone hugged me a bobby pin fell out. Overall I am very uncomfortable but that’s an acceptable feeling when you are sitting at your little sister’s wake.

Amanda was 17 and part of a little clique, The Lucky Seven. The rest of the girls put together a memorial video of old face book posts, texts and pictures commemorating their lost friendship. I’m sitting on the floor in front of the tv in the funeral parlor. Its the first time i’ve cried, and boy was I crying. I have her prom date,Tom, on one side and her best friend, Becca, on the other. I remember breathing in Tom’s strong cologne, a strong manly scent that gave me comfort. It was such a better scent then the musty old smell of the room we were in. They shut the background music (Taylor Swift, naturally) off so we could hear the soundtrack of the video. Its the end of the wake and everyone is exhausted from being so sad all day. The video fades out and we think its over but another video clip starts to play. Its Amanda and she is wearing these ridiculous fat suit pants with suspenders, hair in pigtails on the top of her head. The Amanda we all remember. She starts to dance and sing along (loudly and off tune) to Super Bass by Nicki Minaj. Everyone found the strength to stop crying and start laughing.

Now I’m not particularly fond of this song but I have a great smile on my face every time I hear it. It will always remind of the silly girl my sister was.

 

Leave a Reply

