47

Song Title: Smooth
Artist: Santana feat. Rob Thomas
Age at time of Song Memory : 17
Current Age: 32

Song Memory: This song brings me back to my first day of my freshman year of college (17 years old). I’d driven a couple hours with my family to move into my dorm earlier that day. The drive up really felt like one era of my life was ending and another was beginning. I had absolutely no idea what to expect and I was nervous, anxious, excited… all of the feelings that come with starting a new adventure. I was supposed to share a room with another girl, and well, I’m not so great at meeting new people, so I was really nervous about meeting her and how I’d live with someone I didn’t know until June. What if we had nothing in common? What if we ended up hating each other?

We finally arrived and I met my roommate. She stared at me wide-eyed and introduced herself. She seemed nervous too. My parents and I unloaded all of my stuff into my new room and then went off to their hotel, leaving me alone to unpack with my roomie. It was awkward. Neither of us knew what to say to the other after we’d talked about the usual getting-to-know-you stuff. After a while my roommate suggested we listen to some music. She put on what was then the newest song by Santana: “Smooth” featuring Rob Thomas. We  listened to that song a couple of times as we unpacked our stuff and set up our new college lives. All through the song there was this sense that we were both in this new adventure together even though we were unpacking side by side in silence.

And today my college roommate is my best friend. “Smooth” will always be “our song” and reminds me that that feeling of nervous, anxious excitement is often an indication that something really great is about to happen!

Leave a Reply

