76

Song Title: A Mother Like Mine
Artist: The Band Perry
Age at time of Song Memory : 37
Current Age: 37

Song Memory:
When I first heard the song it automatically made me think of my mother.  There is a line in the song where they say “she is the bravest of us all” and when I hear that I begin to tear up.  My mother was diagnosed with cancer a few years back and my entire world was turned upside down.  I am very close with my mother and the thought of losing her is unbearable.

She faces her mortality every single day and if you met her you would never know.  She lives her life and still does so much for everyone.  I wonder what is going on inside her head, I wonder what her thoughts are, I wonder what she keeps inside and doesn’t tell me…I know she doesn’t want me to be sad…The day the doctor told her the diagnosis I was in the office with her and my father… Immediately after the Doctor said the word “cancer” my parents looked right at me to make sure I was OK…I am so blessed to have such loving parents.

Leave a Reply

